Election Snapshot 6am

Share this post

According to unofficial tallies available at 5am Central this morning...

Republican Mitt Romney won Indiana's popular and electoral votes in Tuesday's

presidential election... [Indiana with eleven electoral votes]

Hoosier voters named Republican Mike Pence their next governor... a six term

congressman from downstate columbus, who defeated Democrat John Gregg and

Libertarian Rupert Boneham... Governor-Elect Pence takes office in January.

Longtime Democrat First District Indiana US Representative Peter Visclosky of

Merrillville was elected to his fifteenth term, defeating Republican challenger

Joel Phelps.

Democrat Second District US Representative Joe Donnelly of South Bend won the Indiana

U.S. Senate seat on the ballot Tuesday , beating out Republican State Treasurer Richard

Mourdock for a seat long held by Republican Richard Lugar, who lost in the primary.

In the race for that second district congressional seat, Republican Jackie

Walorski has apparently defeated Democrat Brendan Mullen and Libertarian Joseph

Wayne Ruiz. Walorski narrowly lost to donnelly two years ago.

It appears Republican incumbent State School Superintendent Tony Bennett was

defeated by Democrat Glenda Ritz, though results were not yet available from all

counties across the state.


In local races, Democrats in Porter Countyy saw victories for county surveyor,

county commissioner district one/south district, and the

three at-large county council seats, with all of the county's 123 precincts

reporting in the unofficial results available this morning

For State Senate District Five, incumbent Republican Ed Charbonneau appears to

have retained his seat, as did Fourth District Republican incumbent State

Representative Ed Soliday.

In Porter County, there were reportedly people waiting in lines before the polls

opened at 6 am, with voter turnout at nearly 64-percent, just a couple

percentage points shy of the county turnout four years ago, according to

unofficial results.

In the newly-redistricted Indiana State Representative District 19 seat, the

apparent winner this morning is Democrat incumbent Shelli Vandenburgh, defeating

Republican challenger Ron Johnson.

Lake County unofficial results with all 527 precincts reporting as of shortly before

midnight show victories for democrats in the race for coroner, surveyor, county commissioner

district two and county commmissioner district three.